Tuesday, October 05, 2004

Cyprus, Church Of

Also called �Orthodox Church Of Cyprus, � one of the oldest autocephalous, or ecclesiastically independent, churches of the Eastern Orthodox communion. Its independence, first recognized by the third ecumenical Council of Ephesus (431), was reaffirmed by the Council in Trullo (692) and was never lost, not even during the occupation of the island by the crusaders. Under the feudal French dynasty of the Lusignans (1191 - 1489) and


Post a Comment

<< Home